Sweet Galette Recipe

Standard

One of the most highly recommended recipes in Dr. Dukan’s book is the Galette. I have made a sweet version to have for breakfast or lunch. The comment from my husband was “Nice. Surprisingly”. I’ll take that 🙂

Sweet Galette Recipe

Serves 1

Suitable for Attack Phase

Olive Oil spray

1 1/2 tbsp Oat Bran

1 1/2 tbsp Vanilla ForMe Yoghurt

1 Egg

1/2 tsp Cinnamon

1. Spay a non-stick fry pan with the Oil for 1 second. Gently wipe it with paper towel to remove excess oil.

2. In a small bowl place the Oat Bran, Yogurt, Egg and Cinnamon.

3. Whisk until all ingredients come together.

4. Turn heat on pan to medium. Slowly pour the galette mixture into the pan. Scrape out all of the mixture, you don’t want to waste any.

5. When the galette appears to be setting around the edges (it will go a bit opaque and darker) get ready to flip it over! You can do this 2 ways, with an egg flip, or all restaurant like by flipping your wrist. My darling husband can do this, so this is his job in the kitchen 🙂 If you are going to use the egg flip try to get it in and out all the way around to make sure there are no stuck bits. It is easier to flip if your galette has a smaller diameter. You could make 2 smaller ones to make it even easier on yourself. It will be quite brown underneath, don’t worry that is normal.

6. Serve with some extra Vanilla ForMe Yoghurt and a sprinkling on cinnamon.

Enjoy!

L.

15 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 1 – Attack « My Dukan Diary

  2. Pingback: Day 6 – Attack « My Dukan Diary

  3. Pingback: Day 11 – Cruise (PP) « My Dukan Diary

  4. Hi
    I’m in Australia and bought the book on the weekend and wanted to start the diet tomorrow, however, I am gluten free and can’t have oat bran. Would you know what I can substitute for this to make the galette. I have been surfing the web for answers and someone suggested psyllium husks or flaxseet but I don’t know how much to use. Also on these sites they refer to PP and PV (I know it sounds ignorant) but what do they stand for?

    • Hi Renee! That’s so good you’ve decided to start the diet 😀
      There is no such thing as a silly question! PP = Pure Protein, PV = Protein & Vegetables.
      Hmmm, I would use the same amount of psyllium husk as oat bran, from what i know they are a similar consistency, and while it might not have exactly the same properties as oat bran, it would still give you the fibre you need.
      If you have any other question, feel free to ask! xo

    • Hello there, just reading through the blog, came across this question. I am not sure about a gluten free alternative, however I belong to a forum that is on http://www.taste.com.au all to do with the Dukan Diet. There is people on that site that have paid for the Diet, and can email directly to Dr Dukan himself..I think.. or his representatives anyway..they might be able to give you some advice on the gluten free.

    • hi Renee, i am doing the dukan diet too (12.8 kilos in 43 days so far woohoo) and also live in Aus. if you google the question …….is oat bran gluten free…. you will see that oats can be eaten as part of a gluten free diet, so it is ok to have oat bran. I love my galettes and have made some very small ones and used them like bilinis with smoked solmon and cottage cheese and dill. Even my dinner guests had them (so i didnt look like a freak on a diet!) and they were none the wiser…hehe 🙂 hope this helps.

    • Hey, I’m not sure if it’s allowed but Buckwheat is gluten free, despite its name suggesting otherwise! Perhaps you could buy buckwheat flour and make gallettes with that?

  5. Pingback: Friday Day 32 Cruise PP « Bracelet Charm takes on Dukan

  6. Rice bran would be a good substitute for the gluten-free diet. Also, oat bran may be available gluten-free if you search for it.
    Some people who are gluten intolerant can tolerate oats.

  7. Hi,

    I live in Japan too and I was wondering where you buy your oat bran. I want to make some oatbran blueberry muffins!! I can’t find it for the life of me, please help!!

  8. Would rice bran screw up the diet? Oat bran upsets my stomach. I’ve tried 1/2 rice bran and 1/2 oat bran and it works but I don’t know if it’s ok for the diet. Rice bran has some fat in it.

  9. Thanks for this neat post, really like the easy to follow photos!

    My problem with the galette is (was) that I don’t like yoghurt. Don’t like it at all. Hate it.

    My girlfriend (who is also on the diet) has however invested a version of the galette in which she replaced the yoghurt with tofu. This has made it heartier, more solid and really yummy, especially when served with something like tuna, ham, turkey breast or salmon.

    Recipe can be found here:
    http://duodoingdukandiet.wordpress.com/2011/08/07/day-9-on-the-dukan-diet/

Leave a Reply

