Beef Casserole Recipe

Standard

I really had a craving for a hearty dinner tonight, and I bought some diced beef last night anticipating this.

Beef Casserole Recipe

Makes 2 Serves

Suitable for Cruise Phase (PP & PV)

(The recipe contains 1 tbsp of cornflour and I’m not certain that it’s allowed on Attack, so I wouldn’t suggest it.)

500g Diced Beef

1/2 Onion

2 cloves Garlic

1 tbsp Cornflour

1 tsp Chicken Stock Powder

1/2 cup Water

Freshly Cracked Black Pepper

1 tbsp Dijon Mustard

1. Place the Cornflour and Black Pepper in a freezer bag.

2. Add the Beef.

3. Mix the Beef, Cornflour and Pepper together and try and to get an even coating.

4. Chop the Onion and Garlic

5. Spray a flameproof dish with Olive Oil, wipe away excess with paper towel.

6. Soften Onions and Garlic. You may need to add a dash of the Water to help the cooking along.

7. Add Beef and Brown. Again, you may wish to add a dash of the Water to help the Beef move freely.

9. Add in the Mustard, Chicken Stock, Freshly Cracked Black Pepper and the remaining Water.

10. Allow to slowly simmer until Beef is cooked and Gravy is reduced.

Enjoy!

  • I used my flameproof casserole dish … as I love it 🙂 I’m sure you could use a heavy based saucepan or whatever else you have at home.
  • It might sound silly using Chicken Stock Powder, but it’s all I had in the cupboard. You may want to use Beef Stock Powder if you have it, although using Chicken didn’t take away from the flavour.
  • If you are on a PV day it would be yummy to add other veggies like more onion and mushrooms, yum!

L.

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 11 – Cruise (PP) « My Dukan Diary

  2. Oooh yum! Sounds delish! Gonna have to add this to my recipe collection – I’m a big fan of making in bulk and freezing, so I’ll have to start marking each frozen portion with a PV or a PP depending on whether I’ve cooked it with vege or not.

    Although… this sort of casserole, I’ve always made with potato. I’ll have to have a think about what else could go into it instead, or whether it might just be better on its own.

    In other news – I made a brilliant ratatouille last night. My blogging is nowhere near your calibre of taking photos of each stage – I’m very impressed. You’ve inspired me. Maybe next time. 😉

    Charlotte x

    • Well it was really tasty on it’s own, but it would be cheaper if you could bulk it out with other veggies. Do you have an opinion on including other veggies on your PV days that aren’t listed in the book? (other than the ones that are definitely no-no’s) He has only listed 28 veggies, and there are so many more.

      Do you have a recipe for your ratatouille?? I’ve never eaten it before….Love the movie though 🙂

      Lauren

  3. Hmm… Generally speaking, there aren’t many veggies which AREN’T on Dukan’s list that would feature on mine. For example, here’s the Ratatouille:

    2 courgettes, quartered longways and sliced into 3/4cm slices
    1 medium-large eggplant/aubergine, cut to about the same size as the courgette
    3 tomatoes, cut in half and then sliced in the same thickness as the courgettes
    2 red peppers, cut coarsely into bite-sized triangles and other polygons 😉
    1 red onion, cut into medium-largish chunks
    5 cloves garlic, chopped fine but not crushed in garlic crusher
    1 tin of chopped tomatoes (no added sugar or salt)
    Generous sprinkling of Maldon’s smoked sea salt

    1. Brown the onion in a nonstick pan, adding a little water if it threatens to dry out too much

    2. Once the onion is almost done, add the garlic and dry-fry until the garlic is looking a bit brown too

    3. add fresh tomato, peppers, courgette & aubergine, along with a little water, gently turn over heat so that the juices from the onion in the water cover all the ingredients. Sprinkle over some Maldon’s smoked sea salt to taste. I know that Dukan disapproves of salt, for blood pressure and water retention reasons, but I have low blood pressure and am prone to muscle cramps, so some salt is required, and Maldon’s smoked sea salt is just brilliant.

    4. Cook gently for 10 minutes or so in pan, then transfer to casserole dish, add some whole sprigs of rosemary or thyme (or both!) but don’t tear them up or you end up with lots of leafy bits in your ratatouille

    5. if the mix is looking a little dry (or not red enough!) add the tin of tomatoes, but you may not need to do this. I did, and it was tasty.

    5. Cook in oven at 150c for 40-50 mins or until you can’t stand the aroma any more and have to dig in.

    I chopped up a little roast chicken and sprinkled it over the top in teh bowl, to add a bit of extra protein, but any meat will do. I bet this would be brilliant with some lean meatballs, seared in a pan and then cooked with it in the oven too… 🙂

  4. Omg so yummy!!! Just made it for my boyfriend and his housemate who don’t know I’m on a diet and they couldn’t get enough. Put a pie crust on for them and had it with a Dylan galette myself. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

