Day 24 – Cruise (PV)

Standard

I stayed the same on the scales again this morning … 92.4kg … so another mini plateau. I will try to follow the advice of others quite strictly to hopefully see the scales moving again. The biggest thing is that I will drastically reduce the number of Skinny Cow Ice Creams I have been having. Apparently they have real sugar, not sweetener, so that might be hindering my efforts.

I had such a hectic day at work today, then I had to go to an Epipen training session (for people who have anaphylaxis) … it went for 3 hours! I was planning on heading out to night school, but since I was going to be so late I decided to cancel and come and work at home. Don’t know how much work I am going to get done!

Breakfast: None 😦

Snack: Nestle ForMe Cheesecake Yoghurt

Lunch: Beef Bolognese

Snack: The insides of 2 mini sausage rolls…no pastry at all!!! My new motto is…. Out of Sight, Out of Stomach 🙂

Dinner: Beef Bolognese

EDIT: Snack: Skinny Cow Ice Cream Sundae (ok, ok, I know I wasn’t going to eat them lots, I promise I won’t eat one for at least a few days :P)

Drinks: 1.5L Water, Coke Zero

Exercise: Nothing…it’s a Monday

L.

SW: 99    CW: 92.4

11 responses »

  1. Not to worry, hunny! We all have ups and downs!

    I dunno about the sausage roll innards though – myself, I’d find myself shying away from them because of the uncertain fat content…? But if it’s all you can get your hands on, then it’s better than nothing!

    Did you see my Tower of Tupperware? I’ve got a fine collection of the very best clippy tupperware now – just right for putting fajita spiced chicken bits as snacks. I even took a snack box with me to the cinema the other day.

    Link-the-kitten loves this diet too – he gets all the offcuts of chicken which I seem to be chop-chop-chopping every day! 😉

    • hehe sausage roll innards, that sounds funny 🙂

      I will check out your tupperware tower now! My husband and I have become addicted this year, since a friend has started being a tupperware distrubuter.

      How do you make your fajita spiced chicken? do you use a premixed thing (does it have salt?…I am wary of salt at the moment)

      Loz
      xoxo

  2. You are doing great! Your body is defo going to be confused by this suddent healthy living, so its going to take some time for it to get on an even keel. But you’ll get there! We are all in this together!

    I tried to make a healthy white sauce for my fish this evening, it was just warm yoghurt with egg yolk! Not to be recommended.

    Chin up missy! Slow and steady!

    Mary

    • 🙂 Thanks Mary
      If you are on Cruise, you can have a small amount of corn flour, so have you thought about making a white sauce with skim milk and corn flour. You could maybe flavour it with mustard or grate in a lite baby bel cheese. I might give this a go too

    • I made a white sauce for my fish using extra light Philedelphia cooking cream with verjuice, water and it was delicious!

  3. I’ve been having Nestle Diet chocolate Mousse whenever i get a sugar craving, works for me. The Carb content is about the same as a non fat yogurt so I justified it as being OK ;).

    • What about the fats and sugars? Something I had pointed out to me is that any sugars need to be artificial (sounds weird). If they don’t make too much of a difference to you on the scales and you really enjoy them….maybe they can be your treat?

      • Something I remember from the book is that Not All Calories Are Created Equal – carb calories have a different effect from protein calories. Also, there are lots of different kinds of carbs. The carbs we get from lactose (ie dairy products) are way differnet from the carbs we get from sugar – the sugar goes into the body quicker – I think we’re supposed to consider sugar to be more of a no-no because of this…

        Don’t mean to pontificate – I’ve just been thinking a lot about this one recently. A friend of mine has started doing his OWN low-carb diet, not by Dukan’s method, but given his own scientific research (he’s a PhD candidate) his method has turned out remarkably similar to Dukan’s. The only difference is the way he looks at fat – my impression from him is that if I have the choice between a higher-fat or a higher-carb snack, I should go for the higher fat option every time, because once the body has gone into ketosis (ie there’s no more carbs left in the muscles to burn) our systems find it very difficult to process the fat.

        This was interesting – he tried having a very fatty meal – about 5000cal of fat – just to see what would happen. No carbs at all in that meal. The result? It just “went right through him.”

        😉

  4. Mm…good point about different type of sugars. Xylitol is a natural sweetener but it’s absorbed different than sugar. It’s no carb, and low GI. It’s recommended as a sweetener for most low carb diets, including Atkins. I really don’t know for sure though.

    I did gain 1 kg today though, so for the next 2 weeks, I’m cutting it completely out to see what happens on the scales.

    The Nestle diet mousse is about 55cals and 1 or 2 grams of fat.

    I had a Coke Zero at the beginning of the week and I had a major crash. Can you crash from artificial sugar?

  5. The verjuice is by Maggie Beer, get it from gourmet food shops. You can also find it in some Woolworths in the deli section near the hams but not in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

