Cottage Pie Recipe

Standard

Great comfort food for a PV day. Very rich.

I made the filling tonight, and we had a big bowl of that for dinner. I put some aside to make mini cottage pies in ramekins tomorrow 🙂

You will want to try and cook the filling and topping simultaneously……otherwise you will be in the kitchen for too long!

Cottage Pie = Beef Mince
Shepherd’s Pie = Lamb Mice
You can make it either way 🙂

Cottage Pie Recipe

Makes 4 large Serves

Suitable for Cruise PV Phase

Filling Ingredients:

  • Olive Oil Spray
  • 500g Beef Mince
  • 1/2 Onion finely diced
  • 2 large cloves garlic, crushed
  • 2 tbsp Corn Flour
  • 2 tsp Chicken Stock Powder dissolved in 1 1/2 cups Hot Water
  • 2 Tomatoes, Diced
  • 150g tub Tomato Paste
  • Freshly Cracked Black Pepper

Topping Ingredients:

  • 1 head of Cauliflower
  • 1 clove Garlic
  • Freshly Cracked Black Pepper
  • 1-2 tbsp Extra Light Philadelphia Cream Cheese

1. Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.

2. Lightly spray a frying pan with Olive Oil Spray and wipe away excess with paper towel. Brown Beef Mince until crumbly.

3. Remove mince from frying pan, getting rid of any excess fat.

4. In the same pan, fry the garlic and onion. When soft, return beef to pan.

5. Sprinkle over Corn Flour and cook, stirring, for a few minutes.

6. Add to the pan the Diced Tomatoes, Tomato Paste, Stock & Water, Black Pepper. Stir to combine.

7. Allow to simmer on a low heat for at least 10 minutes or until thickened.

MEANWHILE:

1. Cut the Cauliflower into florets and rinse. Cook Cauliflower in a saucepan of water for approximately 20 minutes or until you can insert a knife into a floret without resistance.

2. While the Cauliflower is cooking, very finely chop the garlic.

3. Drain the water from the pan and return the Cauliflower over a very low heat for a few moments, stirring, to evaporate some extra water.

4. Turn off the heat and begin to mash the Cauliflower. Add the other ingredients, Extra Light Cream Cheese (however much you want), Pepper and Garlic.

5. When you have reached a point where you don’t think you can mash it anymore, you can leave it at this point. I prefer to have it perfectly smooth, so I had a go at it with my barmix (hand blender).

TO ASSEMBLE:

1. Place the filling mixture into one large baking dish, or small ramekins (it would at least fill 8 ramekins)

2. Top with the Cauliflower Puree.

3. Bake in the oven until top slightly browns and dish is hot.

Enjoy!

I threw this recipe together tonight, and have recorded exactly what I did. This tasted soooo good that I feel it was not as healthy as I could have made it. So some things I would change for next time….

  • Only use 1 tsp of Chicken Stock Powder…to reduce salt.
  • I didn’t have a tin of tomatoes in the cupboard!! (can you believe it??) So I used the 2 fresh tomatoes and the tub of tomato paste. The tomato paste was quite high in carbs though (9.2g/100g….I figured you don’t actually eat that much though, so it might be a Tolerated Food)
  • Next time I would use a tin of tomatoes with 1 sachet of tomato paste (I think the sachets are 2 or 3 tbsp?) Still would add in the fresh tomatoes though, they added a very nice dynamic.
  • Next time I would add mushrooms, or other veggies as well….we love mushrooms.

Lauren

(p.s. Sorry about the ginormous post!)

7 responses »

  1. Just ate the leftovers for lunch today….even better! I had the cauliflower sitting in the fridge but I couldn’t wait to make the puree…I had to eat!! I put a teaspoon of Extra Light Cream Cheese on top of the filling, then microwaved the ramekin and stirred it through….how can anyone call this a diet??

  2. I steamed the cauliflower and garlic in the microwave for about 8 minutes (bit of water in the bowl) and mashed it in the pot to get rid of the excess water and the pureed it in the blender with salt and pepper.

    Such good Mash!! Going to enjoy my Cottage pie tonight. 🙂

    Yee-Shin

  3. Pingback: Day 58 – Cruise (PV) « My Dukan Diary

  4. Pingback: Day 62 – Cruise (PV) « My Dukan Diary

  5. Pingback: Day 68 – Cruise (PV) « My Dukan Diary

  6. That sounds delicious – I live in Portugal and can’t seem to get extra light philly = only light ? Is it ok to have that ?

Leave a Reply

