Peeps….

Standard

image source

A very big hello to all of the wonderful people who have read this blog. To the people who are visiting for the first time….welcome. And to the gorgeous people who have been reading all along….thank you!

I am so very sorry for my long absence from this blog, there are a number of reasons, of which I’m not going to list them all out of boring you, but the main and honestly biggest reason is that I have ‘temporarily’ stopped following the Dukan Diet. Probably since I stopped posting. I say ‘temporarily’ in quotation marks, because in my heart I don’t want to say that I have stopped the diet because it is THE BEST thing I have ever done in terms of changing my life….it works! And although I am not following the diet in any way shape or form, I hope to get back on track in the new year, probably into the Consolidation phase….even though I have not reached my goal weight.

Now about that, I’m sure you are very curious as to what I weigh now…..

The true lowest I have been was around 76kg. At this point my scales’ batteries stopped working and gave me miraculous results, dropping kg overnight. Alas, this was not true and when it was realised…new batteries bought…and an accurate weight read…it was a bit of a bummer. Right now I am sitting around 79kg, and have been for a while. So I still have 8kg to lose to reach my goal, but I have some very big hurdles in my way….

In 12 days I will be facing the most exciting and challenging experience of my life….I am moving to Japan…ALONE! I will be moving overseas to teach English, a dream I have had for a long time.

There are many challenges I will be facing when I do this, and if we are just taking about the Dukan Diet I ask you to take a step back and reflect on what is a staple food of the Japanese culture….rice! Having this in my mind and knowing that I will be eating Sushi for a year ^o^…it made it easier to slowly drop off from following the diet.

I have been thinking about writing this post for a long time, but I couldn’t quite find the words. I hope I have answered some of your questions, but please, if you have more, do ask them! I will answer them in honesty (I’m that kind of person).

Merry Christmas Everyone! Hugs your way xoxo

Lauren.

SW: 99    CW: 79    LOSS: 20kg 😀

17 responses »

  1. Thankyou for coming back. Your posts have been missed by all. Hope your move goes well and Japan agrees with you. Look forward to hearing from you in the new year. We won’t let you get away with stopping altogether, temporary suspension is acceptable but if you don’t come back to us I will make it my job to get you motivated again. Merry Christmas and happy new year 🙂

    • Hi lovely people,
      Does anyone know what has happened to the Dukan Diet Australian Support Group page on Facebook? I haven’t been able to locate it the past few days. I hope it isn’t gone, it was a lot of help.

      Thank you!

  2. It’s so nice to have you back – I was starting to get really concerned about you! Keep on blogging no matter what because you will have some fantastic experiences to share of your adventures in Japan, how very exciting for you 🙂 I hope that it is everything you want it to be and more. Safe travels, Merry Christmas & a Happy New year to you. 😉 xxx

  3. Welcome back 🙂

    Goodluck with your new adventure in Japan.
    Well done on what you have achieved with the Dukan diet, whichever way you look at it you have done amazing things .
    Goodluck

  4. Wow!! What a HUGE lifestyle change you are facing and how VERY exciting. I wish you lots and lots of luck and happiness on your new journey.

    Don’t panic too much about leaving Dukan behind for a while. I have been off the diet for a bit now and am continuing to lose weight at a nice steady pace. I think Dukan helps re-educate your mind about food and that gives you a good spring-board for what you eat in the future.

    Lots of luck in Japan, and I hope you have a very Happy Christmas.

    Sue xx

  5. It is so nice to hear from you again! Japan is a great destination and do not worry about rice, for centuries the staple food of Orientals, whether Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Vietnamese or Thai and they were truly skinny until the arrival of fast food to their lands. All the best in the New Year. I will look forward to reading your blog when you feel like sharing with us again.

  6. Lauren,
    How exciting!! I hope you can enjoy very moment of your adventure. If you take advantage of the local culture and learn traditional recipes I’m sure you will continue to lose weight. Estela is right it’s the addition of the fast food that’s been the problem. What an opportunity to learn new cooking techniques!!! A diet rich in fish, seafood and grains is healthy and our health is really what we are all trying to achieve with our weight loss right? I see it as a win win situation for you!!:-) hope you keep us posted!
    Merry Christmas and a Happy and Safe New Year!

  7. Wow Lauren What an amazing adventure you are about to embark on – I would love to continue to read about your adventures with food in Japan – have recently visited Tokyo and Osaka, and honestly, there was heaps of delicious foods that weren’t rice based – although I do love sushi!!! Teriyakki, Yakatori etc – yum, yum, yum. The other thing that I found is that the Japanese walk everywhere so the exercise was not a problem at all – it is a fabulous country and fascinating culture – I am sure it will be an amazing experience for you – I am so jealous. Have fun and enjoy your Christmas and New Year celebrations.
    xxxxxxxx Ros

  8. Oh Lauren
    It is so good to hear from you – not that I can talk, I have been pretty absent myself. Anyway Wow and WOW – some big changes coming up but so exciting. I know you are going to be fine – you are motivated and really in the grand scheme of things what is 7 kg. You have lost 21 kg – wow wow.
    You are amazing and you have inspired me so much. I assume that you will keep blogging even though you are moving????
    Dukan is now in Japan………..
    Good Luck and hope the move goes well.
    xxx

  9. HEY hunny! Sorry it’s taken me so long to get back to you – you know what this time of year is like…

    Off to Japan to teach English – AWESOME! You’ll love it. I did a year in China doing the same thing once I finished uni, and it was the best choice for me at the time. I had less understanding at the time of what constituted a “good diet” and if I’d have known about Dukan back then, I’d not have put on anywhere near as much weight.

    If Japanese cooking bears any resemblance to Chinese, then it IS possible to avoid too many carbs! Some of my favorite meals were totally carb free, and I only had the rice cause I thought that was what was expected of me. You can easily do without – but the question is, do you WANT to? It’s a tough call, experiencing a new culture like that and wanting to enjoy everything about that new culture.

    My no. 1 piece of advice for doing what you’re doing though, is totally unrelated to food – make sure you make a solid effort RIGHT from the start, to learn the language. Most people find that they don’t really find it easy to really start studying until about 5 months into the stay (at least, in China my western friends and all found that.) I really regret that I didn’t start applying myself until then, because then I really only had another 6-7 months to immerse myself in the language. If I’d really forced myself from day one to learn more than just how to haggle in the market, then I’d be fluent in Mandarin now, rather than just “getting by.”

    Keep in touch, maybe set up a new blog about your experiences there! I still have one which I kept up when I was in China, then kept the same address for when I moved to the UK – http://likethespider.com/?cat=4 – all the China entries are categorised under “Chinablog.”

    I can’t wait to hear about your new adventures! Not long to go now! Good luck!

    Charlotte xx

  10. Hello Everyone,

    Excellent blog, tons of good info. I’m very happy I found it. Just started my D-diet on Jan 13th, so it is all new to me, going well so far.
    Good luck with your adventure with Japan:)

  11. Hi i have just finished attack phase and have read some of your posts congrats you are doing so well and i have also got some of your recipes to try… i have the book but am a little confused as to what i am doing next i know the vegies to incorporate but not sure on the how many pp days and then pv any advice? thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

