Earthquake Update

Standard

Things are still fine in Ueda, however I have felt a number of small and large aftershocks since the big Earthquake on Friday. The magnitude of the first earthquake has now been upgraded to a 9.0 (source) and only 4 other Earthquakes in the world have recorded 9.0 or over.

At 4am on Saturday morning, I got woken up by what I thought was a large aftershock, it ended up being a second earthquake of 6.6 in the Niigata Prefecture, which is one away from where I live. This earthquake caused an avalanche. Cracks in the road appeared in Sakae, which is about 20 minutes by train away from me.

Because of this earthquake, my classes were cancelled for the day, but I still had to go to work at a closer school! I have heard that all Peppy Kids Club Native Teachers (people like me) have been accounted for. And thank goodness my friend we hadn’t heard from was fine, he just had no communications.

Today (Sunday) I experienced yet another small Earthquake…around 3.0…of which the epicentre was in the Nagano Prefecture (where I live). But it’s effects were really only quite small compared to the first.

Occasionally I feel like I am moving ever so slightly…(like the feeling you have when you get off a boat, that you are still on it, you know what I mean?) At first I thought it was my imagination but now I am quite sure it is very minor tremors. To prove I am not going crazy I have set up a handy dandy earthquake detector….a glass of water!

The Japanese people around me appear very calm and not very worried, I think it just must be in their nature. Then again, we are quite far from the tsunami affected areas…about 300km (which in comparison I think it’s the same as from Melbourne to Lakes Entrance). The latest concerns with the Nuclear Power plants are the next things to worry about and I’m keeping an eye on the internet news for updates.

I heard today that the company that supplies the power in Nagano, Chubu Energy, might be diverting the power to affected areas so I am to prepare for deliberate black outs. I’m off now to try and find a torch….

Lauren.

//

5 responses »

  1. Glad to hear you are safe & sound Lauren. It’s unreal and a li’l scary watching all the devastation from here so I can only imagine how nerve wracking it would be where you are. Keep safe 😉

    • Thanks Sue. I just feel so bad for the Japanese people affected. They are such beautiful, amazing people who don’t deserve this (nobody does, but you know what I mean xo)

      • Hey Lauren,
        Heard there was another quake today, hoping you are safe and sound. It must be such an experience being over there atm.
        xoxo

  2. Hi Lauren
    As soon as I heard about the earthquake I immediately thought ‘gentle monkey????’ – through the blog you have become a friend. So relieved to hear that you and all your children as well as the other English teachers are safe and well – it continues to unfold and the looks of despair and bewilderment on the faces of the Japanese people who are so stoic brings me to tears as I watch. God bless you all! While it is incredible to be involved in the aftermath, Lauren, it will be interesting to read your future first hand blogs of the impact and your experiences with these amazing people who have suffered enough. Cheers Ros

    • Hi Ros
      I just found out the other day that ALL of the employees have been accounted for and are safe and well…thank goodness!
      I live far away from the tsunami affected areas but you have to wonder about friends and relatives of the Japanese friends I have made. Even if something was wrong they wouldn’t even say….

Leave a Reply

