Baked Vanilla Custard Recipe

Standard

Please Note: This recipe is from The Dukan Diet book and my husband and I don’t believe that it turned out tasty at all. Admittedly, the original recipe called for a vanilla bean and I didn’t have any, so I omitted it. When the custard came out if was very egg flavoured and not much vanilla flavoured, also, it wasn’t sweet at all. I have shown the recipe as I made it, as I know some people would like it the way it is. I will put in red the additions that I would make next time to make it more tasty. If you have a good custard recipe, or know how to tweak this one, please leave a comment, my husband would be very grateful 🙂

Baked Vanilla Custard Recipe

Serves 6

Suitable for the Attack Phase

5 Eggs

1 tbsp Vanilla Extract / 2 tbsp Vanilla Extract

1 1/2 cups Skim Milk

1 tsp Nutmeg

1/4 cup Splenda

1. Pre-heat oven to 150 degrees.

2. Prepare a bain marie with 6 small ramekins in a baking dish.

3. Crack the 5 Eggs into a large bowl.

4. Beat the eggs and add the Vanilla Extract, Nutmeg and Splenda.

5. Heat the milk slowly, without letting it boil. Slowly add it to the Egg mixture, stirring constantly.

6. Pour custard evenly into ramekins. I actually transferred my mixture to a plastic jug to make it easier to pour. Sprinkle some extra nutmeg over each ramekin.

7. Boil the kettle and pour the boiling water 3/4 up the sides of the ramekins.

8. Very carefully transfer to the oven. Bake for 30-35 minutes.

9. Allow to cool for another 2 hours in the bain marie.

  • This makes quite a ‘set’ custard, not runny.
  • I am going to try and salvage the custards you see here somehow, will let you know how I go 🙂

Enjoy !

L.

13 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 4 – Attack « My Dukan Diary

  2. Hi everyone,
    I have had some feedback on another way to make this tastier and that was to add 1 tbsp of sweetener for every ramekin you are using, (instead of the 1/4 cup) – Thanks Stephanie
    And you can also add vanilla paste as well as the vanilla extract – Thanks Loraine

  3. Glad to have found this blog! You seem to be at about the same “place” as me too in relation to having started the diet so I like that too :o) I agree – adding more sweetener works and the vanilla paste (as well as the vanilla essence – I actually just used imitation vanilla as it seemed to be more diet friendly?) definitely works – there was no way I was forking out for vanilla beans so much cheaper too. I absolutely LOVE these custards, find them really creamy and can’t quite believe they’re diet, they’ve gotten me through a few days this week! Good Luck!!

    • That’s so good to hear! I will definitely make them again now with the changed ingredients and I’m sure they will be much tastier!
      It’s nice to hear we are both in the same place with the diet 🙂 How are you going with yours??

  4. Thank you for this post!! I thought I had trouble following recipes when making my first (and so far, only!) batch. I ended up sprinkling Splenda on top, otherwise it just tasted like fancy scrambled eggs!!

    Like Michelle, I also used vanilla essence as I didn’t have any pods or paste handy. Now I will make them using your recipe! Thanks again! 🙂

  5. This is very tasty, i used a little cinnamon in my egg mixture and sprinkled the nutmeg on top as i found the nutmeg over powering. Overall a very tasty dish indeed… Yum

  6. I love my Vanilla pots!
    While heating 500ml skimmed milk with vanilla extract, soak two leaves of gelatine. Just before the milk boils I take off the heat and add the leaves squeezed of excess water. In a separate bowl, mix 3 yolks, 4 tbs splenda, two tbs of cornflour. I then add the hot milk, mix with an electric beater to get it smooth, put back on the heat to thicken. Once thick i put in ramekins, cover with cling film and once cooled put in the fridge – very quick and easy! To turn them to chocolate pots I add 2 tbs cocoa (sugar free) and a bit more splenda to the egg mixture and follow the same method.

    • Hi Liz 🙂 if you are baking them in a water bath in the oven then you need something that can withstand the heat of the oven without cracking.

      In the comments above, Gipsey has an interesting twist on the recipe that doesn’t require an oven at all…you could put that version in any container to set. Hope that helps xo

  7. I just made this according to the book and agree that it was too eggy and taseless. I will try again using your recipe. Also, I did not use ramekins since I don’t own any. I just used cupcake tins in water bath. I scooped out the custard with a spoon and they retained their shape just fine.

  8. The custards are baking in the oven as we speak. I tasted the batter and it did not taste sweet at all, tasted like it needed some splenda or other sweetner but the receipe didn’t call for it so I didn’t add it. So I thought I would look on line at the Foodnetwork to see how they make custards and then I did a search on the net and found this blog..and the introduction about the pies was right on… I did add vanilla bean to mine however, but I wish i would have added spenda like the recipe suggests here. if they dont taste sweet i will try to salvage by stirring in some splenda….

Leave a comment